Wed. Jan 20th, 2021

Renfrewshire has honoured dedicated groups and volunteers for their work in the community as the Provost’s Community Awards took on Friday night.

Renfrewshire’s Provost Lorraine Cameron was joined by comperè Libby McArthur to help celebrate the achievements of devoted community members who go above and beyond to make Renfrewshire a better place to live and work.

Photo: Provost Cameron with comperè Libby McArthur

The awards were split across six categories, including a revamped award for employees to recognise their hardworking staff.

The award winners were invited to a special ceremony at the Lynnhurst Hotel in Johnstone after being chosen from more than 60 outstanding nominations submitted by their peers in the local community.

Preceding the presentation of the awards, Fèis Phàislig Ceilidh Trail entertained the invited guests with a selection of traditional tunes and songs.

Photo: Entertainment from Fèis Phàislig Ceilidh Trail

The recipients of this year’s awards were:

  • Arts and Culture (sponsored by Renfrewshire Council) – The Buddy Beat
  • Carer’s Award (sponsored by former Provost Nancy Allison) – Jamie-Louise Murray
  • Community Group (sponsored by the Piazza Shopping Centre, Paisley) – Pals of the Privies
  • Community Volunteer (sponsored by Glasgow Airport Ltd) – Heather Clissett
  • Employee of the Year (sponsored by UNISON Renfrewshire) – Tracey MacNab
  • Sporting Achievement (sponsored by Acre Industrial Services Ltd) – Joanna Butterfield MBE

Renfrewshire’s Provost Lorraine Cameron said: “The Community Awards outline the talent, the enthusiasm and the determination that we are lucky to have in Renfrewshire and every one of this year’s winners are an inspiration.

“It is a privilege to work through the applications with my fellow judges and I never tire of seeing the outstanding work going on in our communities.

“Congratulations to all our winners, you deserve to be rewarded for your fantastic work to make Renfrewshire a better place and I’m delighted to be able to recognise you through these awards.”

The Provost’s Community Awards were first established in 1997 by former Provost Nancy Allison, who continues to sponsor the Carers Award today.

The awards have been continued by each subsequent Provost and have recognised more than 100 deserving community members for their commitment and devotion.

Photo: Provost Award Sponsors – Jim Price, Acre Industrial; Katie MacLeod, Piazza Shopping Centre; Provost Cameron; Mark Ferguson, UNISON; Craig Martin, Glasgow Airport