Councillor Iain McMillan has been elected leader of the Renfrewshire Council Labour Group at a recent meeting with the Labour councillors.

McMillan will replace Councillor Eddie Devine who did not put himself forward for the post.

Iain, who represents Johnstone South and Elderslie, was an elected member from 1995 until 2017 until he stood down. He stayed active with Labour in his local area, got involved with Johnstone Community Council as secretary and Thorn Athletic Sports Academy.

He has recently stood down from Johnstone Community Council as he will now attend the public meetings as an elected official.

Neighbouring Houston, Crosslee and Linwood councillor, Alison Ann-Dowling will become depute leader.

Group chair is Gillian Graham, the new cllr for Johnstone North, Kilbarchan, Howwood and Lochwinnoch, holding Vice-chair is newly elected Ben Smith for Paisley Northwest.

Secretary position will be held by Kevin Montgomery, member for Paisley Southwest and treasurer is new Paisley Northeast and Ralston cllr Graeme Clark.

New councillors Sam Mullin for Erskine and Inchinnan will be chief whip and Janis McDonald, Paisley Northwest will be deputy whip.

Cllr Iain McMillan said: “I was delighted last week to be elected to serve the people of Johnstone South and Elderslie and on Monday 9th May I was elected as leader of the Labour Group on Renfrewshire Council.

“It is a great privilege to lead your party and I hope to build our group into a strong force within the council.

“We will be true to our collective Labour values and be a voice for the communities we represent.”

Scottish Labour made gains at last week election securing 15 councillors, in the 2017 council election, they had 13.

Main photo: Renfrewshire Labour celebrating their win with elected members, family and supporters
Photo Credit: David Cameron / Renfrewshire News