Voters are being reminded of the requirement for identification to vote in-person at a polling station as voting opens today for the Paisley and Renfrewshire North, Paisley and Renfrewshire South and Inverclyde and Renfrewshire West constituencies.

Polling stations opened at 7am and will be available for voters to cast their vote in-person until 10pm, with details of the correct polling place found on poll card letters issued to each voter.

For the first time in Renfrewshire constituencies, voters will be required to show photo identification at their polling station to vote for an MP. Accepted forms of ID include passports, driving licences, provisional driving licences, Scottish National Entitlement card, and Young Scot card with a PASS mark.

A more detailed list of accepted forms of identification is available here:

However, the deadline to apply for a free Voter Authority Certificate, or to request a postal vote, proxy vote, or postal proxy vote, has passed.

Anyone who was not able to send their postal vote in advance can hand it in to a polling station, with a one person being able to deliver a maximum of 6 postal votes (5 plus their own).

Any voter who has an emergency that means they are unable to vote in-person, such as having to go away for work, a medical emergency or no longer having a valid photo ID, can apply for an emergency proxy.

Applications to vote by emergency proxy must be made to the Electoral Registration Office by 5pm on polling day by calling 0300 300 0150.

Alan Russell, Returning Officer and Renfrewshire Council Chief Executive said: “I would encourage everyone to check their poll letter and the council website for all the information they need to know to cast their vote. It’s so important that you find the time use your democratic voice today.

“Polling stations will remain open until 10pm tonight and the votes will then be counted and verified at the Lagoon Leisure Centre in Paisley, with the election results due in the early hours of Friday morning.”

There are two constituencies being contested in Renfrewshire, Paisley and Renfrewshire North and Paisley and Renfrewshire South.

Following a review by the Boundary Commission, six new polling places in Cardonald are now part of the Paisley and Renfrewshire North constituency.

Following the boundary changes voters from Bridge of Weir and Houston are now part of the Inverclyde and Renfrewshire West constituency administered by Inverclyde Council, but there is no change to their polling stations.

Renfrewshire News will be at the count in Renfrewshire and will report the results live as they happen.


By Ricky Kelly

Main writer for Renfrewshire News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *