Labour has made gains in Renfrewshire beating the Scottish National Party comfortably.

Alison Taylor, Scottish Labour Party, has been elected as the MP for Paisley and Renfrewshire North.

Johanna Baxter, Scottish Labour Party, has been elected as the MP for Paisley and Renfrewshire South.

Martin McCluskey, Scottish Labour Party, has been elected as the MP for Inverclyde and Renfrewshire West.

In Paisley and Renfrewshire North, 41,663 votes were cast, a 58.8% per cent turnout.

In Paisley and Renfrewshire South, there were 41,416 votes cast, a 57.9% per cent turnout.

In Inverclyde and Renfrewshire West, there were 40,451 votes cast, a 57.68% per cent turnout.

Returning Officer Alan Russell, Chief Executive of Renfrewshire Council, announced the Paisley and Renfrewshire North and South results in the early hours of Friday morning at the Lagoon Leisure Centre in Paisley.

Following the boundary changes voters from  Bridge of Weir, Houston and Crosslee are now part of the Inverclyde and Renfrewshire West constituency administered by Inverclyde Council by Returning Officer Louise Long in Greenock Town Hall.

In Paisley, the election count involved more than 300 staff who were counting postal votes and the contents of ballot boxes from 135 polling stations.

62 polling places across Renfrewshire had been open from 7am until 10pm.

Photo: Renfrewshire’s two new Labour MPs celebrate with supporters at the count in Paisley
Photo Credit: David Cameron / Renfrewshire News

Video: Paisley and Renfrewshire South results and winners speech

Video: Paisley and Renfrewshire North results and winners speech 


By Ricky Kelly

Main writer for Renfrewshire News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *